Blackened Mahi Mahi with Mango Chutney

 

 

Cooking for yourself is not the most interesting thing to do after work but I was inspired to create something new and on the fly.  I had a few Mahi Mahi steaks defrosting as the main protein so I decided to create chutney which I have never done.  I bought a Totapuri mango at the store because it was cheaper than your standard mango and I figured it was still going to work for my dish.  I blackened the Mahi Mahi on a searing pan for a few minutes and added a tablespoon of butter to the pan.  I would not suggest adding butter to this dish if your kitchen does not have good ventilation or your health conscience…yeah looking at you Paula.  The chutney is basically just a diced mango mixed with a dash of cayenne pepper, dash of fennel, and dash of bacon bites..yes I said bacon bites.  I did not use a recipe and just made up the ingredients as I cooked, thanks cooking shows!

Ingredients:

  • Mahi Mahi
  • one mango
  • bacon bites
  • Fennel
  • Cayenne pepper
  • Butter

Cost: 75 cents for the mango and everything else I had

Yield: one fancy fillet of fish

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

