Not your mother’s bread pudding

Image

I know I made bread pudding not very long ago….wait for it…but I love it so much I wanted to create it again after seeing a Food Network chef create a spin off.  If double chocolate bread pudding was a Frankenstein of standard bread pudding it would be Frankenstein’s wife because it’s beautiful and full of spice.  I didn’t know how it would turn out but something said it would be another smash hit with the crowd I serve.  No I don’t know the calorie count nor do I care because it is a dessert and desserts should be unfettered in the area of dietary constraints.   Take your standard pudding and give it an overhaul of croissants and raisin bread with a dash of cinnamon and nutmeg, fill it with chocolate chips and chocolate syrup and place a large dollop of homemade bourbon whipped cream on the hood which gives you a bread pudding hot rod.  I took a thirteen by nine pan with me to dinner and brought home two servings left so that shows I judged right and did not make anyone sick.  This dish is going on my go to desserts list for any occasion.

Cost: $24

Serving size: 20 depending on how big the servings are

Ingredients:

  • 2 tablespoons butter
  • 1 loaf cinnamon-raisin bread, cut into 1-inch squares
  • 6 croissants, cut into 1-inch chunks
  • 1 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips
  • 6 eggs
  • 3 tablespoons brown sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 5 to 6 scrapes of fresh nutmeg, on a rasp
  • 1 1/2 quarts milk
  • 1 1/2 cups chocolate syrup (recommended: Hershey’s)
  • Kosher salt
  • Bourbon Whipped Cream

http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/sunny-anderson/double-chocolate-bread-pudding-with-bourbon-whipped-cream-recipe/index.html

Leave a Reply

