Wait…muffins are spicy?

Yes muffins can be spicy apparently!  As you can see from most of my posts I tend to lean more on the dessert side of things and not so much on the appeteasers.  This recipe fit the bill for something new and the use of meat and not sugar for once.  I found this recipe on the same blog as the “Preggo Chocolate Chip Cookies” I just posted.  Any recipe with anything to do with pork products and I’m in….yes even Spam and bacon bits.  One  tip I can give is anyone who just got into cooking is measure your ingredients at first and then once you get comfortable with proportions stop with measuring because its a waste of time.  I threw the base ingredients together and chopped up almost a full bag of pepperoni for these babies.  Red pepper flakes really added a spicy aftertaste to these muffins and I added it liberally.  The pizza dipping sauce gave the muffins a mellow finish to the spiciness.  This appetizer would really be good for a football game.  The spicy muffins were another hit with my people and only came home with a few left.

Serving: 24 per pan

Cost: $25 and I had the rest.

Ingredients:

  • 3/4 cup flour
  • 3/4 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1 tablespoon Italian seasoning
  • pinch of salt (my addition, optional)
  • pinch of red pepper flakes (my addition, optional)
  • 3/4 cup whole milk
  • 1 egg, lightly beaten
  • 1 cup shredded mozzarella cheese
  • 1/4 cup grated Parmesan cheese
  • 1 cup cubed pepperoni
  • 1/2 cup store-bought pizza sauce

http://lickthebowlgood.blogspot.com/2010/07/annoying-habits.html

Leave a Reply

