Under the table at the bake sale

If a bake sale had a secret menu like In and Out these babies would be on it.  The salted caramel chocolate Rice Krispy treats would be the animal style version of your standard issue gooey confection.  The chocolate ganache is a smooth juxtaposition to the crunchy caramel laced crispy bottom if you will.  A dash and not a handful of coarse sea salt will add a bite to all the sweetness these treats bring.  I like bold flavors so I waited til the dish cooled before adding the sea salt so it didn’t dissolve.  I got a lot of compliments when I served these so I guess these passed the test.  I followed the recipe to the T and they came out crunchier than I expected.
Cost: $12

Serving size: 16ish

Ingredients:

Caramel:
1/2 cup sugar
2 tablespoons water
2 1/2 tablespoons butter, softened
1/4 cup heavy cream
1/8 teaspoon salt
Rice Cereal Treat:
1 (10 oz) bag marshmallows
2 tablespoons butter, softened
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
6 cups Rice Cereal
Chocolate Ganache:
2 cups chocolate chips
3/4 cup heavy cream
Salt to top
P.S.  I got the recipe from the blog above and she has a better picture than I.
Leave a Reply

